Yo Girl!

by Dawn W

Someone only catcalled me once today at work. This is a major accomplishment as it usually happens several times a day. I do not mean to say that I am an exceptional beauty. I am not. Even still, not a workday goes by when I don’t hear a comment shouted at me from across the room or down the hall. 

Without going into too much detail (as I’m not entirely allowed to), I can tell you this. I work in an airport, which means that I see lots of different people all day long. I’ve worked there long enough that some faces are familiar. It is from these familiar faces that the calls come.

“Hey girl. When you gonna give me your number?”

“Hi trouble. Why haven’t you come to say hi lately?”

“Now that you’re here, my day is so much better.” 

On paper, these comments are harmless and complementary. Real life, however, is a different story. None of these men have taken the time to learn my name despite the fact that I wear an identification badge that they must inspect. None of them have attempted a conversation other than the ones I’ve given examples of. And you can bet your ass none of them yell at me when I walk the halls with my male boss. 

I am beyond complemented that someone thinks I’m pretty. If you ask me, it’s not a long list. that doesn’t mean that you no longer have to treat me with respect. I am a human first and a woman second. Learn to make that distinction and you might just get my number. Otherwise, you and your patriarchal entitled bullshit attitude can go home alone. I’ll be alright without you. 

